I’ve noticed a speech pattern that sees a lot of action around here. I don’t remember hearing it before coming to Pittsburgh, but I wouldn’t trust my memory too much on that matter. The pattern is: well, you might think X. The “well” is optional. It is often used as a way of introducing a view or objection. For example: well, you might think that representation is essential for linguistic meaning. Or, you might think that the conceptual is unbounded, which would lead you to object to bare presences like sense-data contributing any sort of justificatory element. Is this a widespread pattern? I don’t think this has crept into my speech or writing.

I’m now done grading finals for the class I’m TAing, so hopefully I can get back to putting up contentful posts, like that one on Goldfarb on showing I promised recently.

