This was noted in the lecture for the class I’m TAing for. Apparently people are now using “argue” in a way that mirrors how most philosophers would use “argue against”. For example, a youngster in Pittsburgh would say “no one can argue that I’m in Pittsburgh” and want to be interpreted as saying that no one could present an argument against the claim that he wasn’t in Pittsburgh. I would say that “argue” is adopting the meaning of “refute”, but another shift is the use of “refute” to mean deny. For example, Bill refuted my premise that the sky was blue by saying that the sky was not blue. Bill didn’t present an argument demonstrating that my claim was wrong; he just asserted that it was. “I refute you thusly: not-p.” I was sort of aware that the latter shift was occurring, but the former was completely off my radar.

