I thought I’d post a couple of questions, which I’m sort of looking into, while more substantive posts are still in development.

First question: Are there discussions of linear logic anywhere in the philosophical literature? There’s a lot on relevance logic and a lot on intuitionistic logic. I’m not sure where to find stuff on linear logic. Failing that, are there any computer science articles that include philosophical discussions of it that go beyond “premises are like resources”? (That’s just something I’ve seen a lot. It is a helpful though opaque metaphor.) I don’t know that I have it in me to work through Girard’s stuff yet.

Second question: Are there any philosophical books or articles that talk about formal language theory? (I mean more than just Turing machines.) Brandom’s Locke lectures have a short discussion of it, mainly the Chomsky hierarchy, early on, but that falls by the wayside and is laden heavily with Brandom’s project. I bet there’s something neat of a philosophical bent somewhere in the computer science literature, but I have no clue.

